Manufacturers news: Danette Swank of Philippi-Hagenbuch to receive STEP Award; Boart Longyear announces board changes; Blue Line joins Montabert

Kerry Clines

March 6, 2015

Danette Swank

The Manufacturing Institute has announced that, on March 26, it will honor 100 women and 30 Emerging Leaders at its STEP Awards reception and dinner. According to the institute, one of the recipients will be Danette Swank, president of Philippi-Hagenbuch and the third generation to lead the company founded by her father and grandfather in 1969.

The institute reports that, since becoming president in July 2013, Swank has been instrumental in streamlining the work flow between departments to help reduce delays in the overall manufacturing process, which has resulted in better on-time delivery to clients and increased client satisfaction. Her goal is to expand the company into additional lines of business within the quarry, mining, steel mill, landfill, power plant, oil refinery, agriculture, and forestry industries through smart decision making, while thinking of and treating employees and associates as “family.”

“LeRoy and Pat Hagenbuch, my parents, have been role models for me both in business, as well as in life, for which I am grateful,” Swank tells the institute. “They challenge me to be my best; they are not ‘yes people’ and have had the fortitude to be glaringly honest, while providing impactful guidance.”  

Swank also shares her talent with the community and trade groups.  The institute reports that she drove the establishment of a Young Leaders Council at the Illinois Manufacturing Association with the goal of providing an incubator for the involvement of young leaders in the manufacturing sector of Illinois. More recently, she has been an active board member for the Peoria Production Shop, a manufacturing facility that employs individuals with disabilities. She is also an active board member for the OSF Healthcare Foundation.

Boart Longyear

Boart Longyear has announced changes to its Board of Directors, effective Feb. 25. According to a company press release, Barbara Jeremiah and Roy Franklin are retiring from the board, and Marcus Randolph and Bret Clayton are joining it. Randolph will assume the responsibilities of board chairman.

Randolph and Clayton come to the board after distinguished careers in the mining industry and extensive senior executive experience at some of the industry’s most respected companies. Randolph was chief executive of BHP Billiton’s Ferrous and Coal business and was a member of BHP’s Group Management Committee. Clayton held a series of senior management positions at Rio Tinto, including chief executive of Rio Tinto’s global Copper and Diamonds groups, president and chief executive officer of Rio Tinto Energy America (now Cloud Peak Energy), and chief financial officer of Rio Tinto Iron Ore.


Montabert will incorporate the Blue Line range of breakers into its own products range, under the Montabert brand. A company press release notes that the Blue Line range, which currently consists of five nitrogen chamber-type breakers designed for use with 10- to 40-ton carriers, will reinforce Montabert’s entry-level market share because of its price-quality ratio. The Blue Line range will be swapping its blue color for Montabert green and will be marketed with similar branding to clearly identify them as part of the Montabert range, but it will keep its name and product designations.

From Our Partners


There are no comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *