NSSGA honors award winners

Therese Dunphy

March 9, 2014

NSSGA President and CEO Mike Johnson presents awards at the association's Awards Ceremony on March 4.
NSSGA President and CEO Mike Johnson presents awards at the association’s Awards Ceremony on March 4.

At the National Stone, Sand & Gravel Association (NSSGA) Awards Ceremony, the winners of the 2013 grassroots awards were announced. Those winners include the following:

  • Joe Vig, P.E., group president, Astec Industries. Vig was recognized for meeting with numerous members of Congress and congressional staffers. He hosted elected officials at his company’s facilities and engaged them in discussions on the need to address surface transportation reauthorization and find a sustainable source of revenue to fund the program.

  • John Hay, senior vice president, government relations and corporate communications, Oldcastle, Inc. Hay was honored for implementing a successful company-wide effort to support NSSGA’s grassroots plan, as well as participating in numerous one-on-one meetings with members of Congress and hosting elected officials at Oldcastle facilities.

  • Ryan Lindsey, vice president of government affairs and marketing, Texas Region Oldcastle Materials, Inc. Lindsey was recognized for his role in meeting with dozens of members of Congress and staff, developing and maintaining relationships with key elected officials, and his after-action activity reports to keep his company and the association informed of lawmakers’ positions on issues of importance to the aggregates industry.

Other key award winners recognized during the ceremony include Grove Stone and Sand Co. and Tilcon’s Mt. Hope Quarry, with each operation earning two stars in NSSGA’s National Stars of Excellence Program.

Jon Reedy, from Lehigh Hanson, Inc., was recognized as the 2013 James M. Christie Safety & Health Professional of the Year, while Lehigh Hanson’s Jim Zadorozny received the 2013 Environmental Leadership Award.

There are no comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *