The NSSGA is accepting applications for its annual Awards of Excellence

Bobby Atkinson

September 1, 2015

NSSGA_VERT_RGBThe National Stone, Sand and Gravel Association is ready to hear from the best in the aggregates industry as it begins to take entries for its annual Awards of Excellence March 20-23, 2016, in Nashville.

According to the NSSGA, the organization will honor those the best practices and innovative companies in the aggregates industry, highlighting operations that are safe, active in their communities and environmentally friendly. Applications are open for entries in a wide array of categories that awards individuals and operations that have contributed to the stone, sand and gravel industry.

“NSSGA’s annual awards recognize the best, the brightest and most innovative operations in our industry. These are the operations that lead the way in enhancing the stone, sand and gravel operations for the benefit of our workers, our environment and our communities,” said Michael W. Johnson, NSSGA president and CEO. “By constantly improving, aggregates producers provide a better, more affordable and more sustainable product in order to grow our industry and provide the best raw materials to build America’s tomorrow.”

The following are the awards open for entries and the NSSGA’s description of each award.

Safety Excellence Award

The Safety Excellence Awards recognize, on an annual basis, individual operations with exemplary safety records in their size category among NSSGA member companies.

James M. Christie Safety and Health Professional of the Year

The Christie Award recognizes a member for outstanding leadership in safeguarding worker safety and health.

Sterling Safety Award 

Sterling Awards recognize member companies that achieve the lowest injury incidence rate for the previous calendar year in their size category. (no entry submission required)

Environmental Excellence Award

The Environmental Excellence Awards provide national recognition for aggregate producers that exceed technical, environmental and regulatory requirements.

Environmental Leadership Award

The Environmental Leadership Award recognizes an individual who has made superior and substantial contributions to their company’s or industry’s efforts to achieve environmentally sound operating practices.

Community Relations

The Excellence in Community Relations Awards were created in 1989 to recognize aggregate producers whose community involvement activities have enhanced the public’s perception of the aggregates industry and operator.

Barry K. Wendt Commitment Award

The Barry K. Wendt Annual Commitment Award is the highest and most distinguished individual award presented by the association. The award is presented to an individual who exhibits both a commitment to the industry and his or her community.



There are no comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *